PDC World Grand Prix Draw!

with No Comments

The World Grand Prix But Not As We Know It

Michael van Gerwen will begin the defence of his World Grand Prix title against Krzysztof Ratajski, with the draw also pitting Rob Cross against Gary Anderson.

Five-time World Grand Prix champion and 11/4 pre-tournament favourite, Van Gerwen will face Polish number one Ratajski in the first round of the 32-player event which will take place at the Ricoh Arena, Coventry, from October 6-12. With this event normally being held in Dublin, it’s an expected change within the current coronavirus conditions.

The pick of the first round ties will see 2016 World Grand Prix runner-up Anderson take on fifth seed Cross, while 2017 champion Daryl Gurney will start his campaign against Joe Cullen.

Number two seed and World Champion Peter Wright takes on Ryan Joyce, who is one of six debutants in the prestigious double-start event.

Third seed Gerwyn Price will face Dutchman Jermaine Wattimena, and newly-crowned Dimitri Van den Bergh will come up against fourth seed Michael Smith.

Two-time champion James Wade will play 2012 runner-up Mervyn King, while Premier League table topper Glen Durrant  will meet 2013 runner-up Dave Chisnall.

The PDC’s most recent ranking event winner Devon Petersen will face Jose De Sousa in a battle of two debutants who have caught the eye on the PDC tour over the last year.

Play will commence with the first round split across two nights on October 6-7, with the second round taking place on October 8-9.

The quarter-finals will be held on Saturday October 10, with the semi-finals on Sunday October 11 and the final on Monday October 12.

The tournament will be broadcast live on Sky Sports, as well as through the PDC’s international broadcast partners including RTL7 and DAZN and for PDCTV Rest of the World Subscribers.

2020 BoyleSports World Grand Prix
Draw bracket

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose De Sousa v Devon Petersen
(8) James Wade v Mervyn King
Adrian Lewis v Chris Dobey
(4) Michael Smith v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Mensur Suljovic v Dirk van Duijvenbode
(5) Rob Cross v Gary Anderson
Danny Noppert v Ryan Searle
(2) Peter Wright v Ryan Joyce
Dave Chisnall v Glen Durrant
(7) Daryl Gurney v Joe Cullen
Jonny Clayton v Ian White
(3) Gerwyn Price v Jermaine Wattimena
Brendan Dolan v Kim Huybrechts
(6) Nathan Aspinall v Gabriel Clemens
Jamie Hughes v Stephen Bunting

Schedule of Play to be confirmed

**All Images Courtesy of PDC Tv**